Start a new topic
Answered

Cannot see any element on the screen in Vortex Studio

Hello, I am a PhD student from Universidad de Málaga. This is my system configuration:

Processor: Intel Core i7-6700 CPU @ 3.40GHz

Memory: 16Gb

Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750

I am trying to use Vortex Studio Editor 2018a. The problem is that I cannot see anything when I work with a scene or a mechanism. In the Graphics Gallery though I can effectively see the mesh grid of any object. In the attached screenshot I show how a certain element is selected in an example scene ('Offshore'), but I cannot see neither it or the rest of elements, the screen is completely black.

I attached also a log file in case it could be useful. Thank you.

log

Best Answer

Hi Ricardo,

We found the problem and made a correction on the activation server.

On your side, simply re-do the activation in VortexLicenseManagerGUI.

Click on "Add Another License" and re-enter the SAME activation key that you used before. 

Regards,

Sylvain Giasson 
Vortex Front End Team Lead  |  Chef d'équipe Vortex Front End
CM Labs Simulations, Inc.

Hi Ricardo,

This could be caused by leftover compiled shader binaries in your bin folder. This happens when you switch graphics cards or when you copy a vortex installation from one computer to another.

Check if you see a "Shader Binaries" folder in the vortex bin directory.

If yes, close the editor, delete this folder and restart the editor again.

Let me know if this resolves your problem.

Cheers,

Daniel

Hi Daniel,

Unfortunately there is no 'Shader Binaries' folder to delete in the bin directory.

Cheers,

Ricardo

Hi Ricardo,

You are looking at the offshore sample which uses the ocean simulation (Vortex Marine). The ocean is not part of the essentials version of Vortex Studio. The log mentions this:

[...]